Latest News

  • News The Skippers Diary Book Launch
    Created on Friday, 18 August 2017 11:44
    Sir Richard Hadlee’s father, Walter, captained the New Zealand Cricket Team on the 1949 Tour of England. This was the New Zealand team that prompted the rest of the cricketing world to sit up and take notice; enjoying great success, and promoting several players to world-class st...

    Read more

    News Canterbury Cricket Vacancy
    Created on Wednesday, 09 August 2017 11:38
    Canterbury Cricket – Capability Support Manager Canterbury Cricket are passionate about supporting the volunteers and administrators that make our summer game a success. The Capability Support Manager role has been established to support volunteers within District and Sub-Associ...

    Read more

    News CMCA Golf Day 2017
    Created on Monday, 07 August 2017 10:05
    The Christchurch Metro Cricket Golf Day will be held on October 13 at the Christchurch Golf Club. It will be an Ambrose format with a Shotgun start of 12pm. Please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. document....

    Read more

    News Call out for Golden Oldies 2018 volunteers...
    Created on Friday, 07 July 2017 09:19
    Nearly 1,000 volunteers are needed to help the largest multi-sport event to be held in Christchurch, the Christchurch Casino Golden Oldies Sports Celebration 2018. Peter McDermott, Golden Oldies Sports Celebration 2018 event director said volunteers are at the heart of events li...

    Read more

    News Jeremy Curwin the New CEO of Canterbury Cricket...
    Created on Friday, 30 June 2017 08:09
    Jeremy Curwin has been appointed as the Chief Executive of Canterbury Cricket.  Jeremy Curwin replaces Lee Germon who has accepted a role as the General Manager of Sydney Thunder.    Canterbury Cricket Board Chairman, Ashley Taggart, said that Jeremy Curwin was a...

    Read more

    News Season Calendar 2017-18
    Created on Thursday, 29 June 2017 14:20
    Season Calendar 2017-18     Date Event 7 0ct Start of ALL Metro ADULT cricket except Div 1 and Div 2 Women 14-Oct 1st XI Youth cricket and Div 1 and Div 2 Women start 21-Oct Labour Saturday-cricket for all Adult and Youth grades ...

    Read more

    News Winter Training now open
    Created on Monday, 15 May 2017 11:54
    Christchurch Metro Cricket is delighted to offer a comprehensive Winter Training Programme for Year 9 to U19 boys in 2017.  Each session will be held out at the state-of-the-art New Zealand Cricket’s High Performance Centre, Lincoln University. The Winter Training Programme...

    Read more

    News CMCA Awards 2016/17
    Created on Wednesday, 05 April 2017 10:11
    Christchurch Metro Cricket have held their 2016/17 Awards evening, recognising volunteer contribution, team winners and individual award winners across all grades. The major winners for the night were Ben McCord of Lancaster Park, who claimed the men's Club Cricketer of the Year...

    Read more

    News Fulton Pulls stumps on outstanding career
    Created on Tuesday, 04 April 2017 14:59
    Fulton pulls stumps on outstanding career  Peter Fulton has officially announced his retirement from first class cricket.  Fulton made his Canterbury first class debut in the last match of the 2000-01 summer and has been the cornerstone of Canterbury Cricket teams sin...

    Read more

At the Christchurch Metropolitan Cricket Association AGM on Tuesday 13 October, seven new Life Members were inducted into the Association for outstanding service to grass roots cricket in Christchurch.

Life membership is a special honour bestowed on a few individuals who have committed a lengthy contribution to the game and there is no doubt that the seven who were honoured this week, have achieved that requirement, racking up over 300 years of combined service to local cricket.

The names of Heather Steele, Gary Saunders, Alan Jamieson, John Grocott, Mike Johnston, Derek Burrell and John Thompson have now formed an exclusive group.

Heather Steele joined the Christchurch Suburban Cricket Association as publicity officer during the 1980’s and went on to serve the Association for 30 years holding positions of secretary, executive officer and treasurer.  She is also a Life member of the Suburban Association and is still actively involved with the Sumner Cricket Club and Canterbury Cricket Umpires and Scorers Association.

Alan Jamieson joined the St Albans Cricket Club as a player during the 1960’s.  He soon joined the committee, becoming Club Captain in 1973 and President in 1980, a position he still holds today.  Alan was a member of the Women’s Cricket Advisory Group for 15 years, is a Life member of his club, and an Honorary Cricket Member of Canterbury Cricket.

John Grocott joined East Christchurch Shirley as a player in 1956 and played for the senior team until 1978.  In 1959 he pioneered the Saturday morning East Christchurch Shirley junior programme, which he continued until 1971.  He obtained his Level 2 coaching certificate in 1968 and continued working with club juniors in the Have-A-Go until recent seasons.  He was a selector for Canterbury Plunkett Shield, Rothmans and Brabin Shield teams during the 1970’s and he won the Sir Jack Newman award for services to junior cricket in New Zealand in 2009-10.

Mike Johnston joined the staff at St Andrew’s College 15 years ago and took the role of 1st XI Coach and Director of Cricket.  During this time he has grown the number of cricketers at the College and maintained St Andrew’s Cricket as one of Christchurch’s top cricketing schools.  He has also coached a large number of Christchurch Metro rep teams and has been an influential mentor to hundreds of young cricketers.  He has also coached a number of Canterbury underage teams.

Derek Burrell joined the Sydenham Cricket club in the early 1970’s before moving to New Brighton in 1980.  He played for the Senior A team for over 20 years.  For 11 seasons he captained the Suburban Representative team, and when he finished playing, he became a representative selector.  He has held a number of positions on the New Brighton committee and he is still an active member of the club today.

John Thompson joined West Christchurch University in 1958 as a player, and continued playing until the 1990’s.  In the 1960’s he was appointed to the Hagley Park Grounds Committee and his passion for turf management has remained strong, being head groundsman at Burnside Park for a number of seasons; he is still involved in an advisory capacity.  In 1972 West Christchurch University joined Burnside to form Burnside West Christchurch University.  John was on the committee for forty years and served in all senior posts.  He is a Life member of Burnside West and Canterbury Cricket.

Gary Saunders joined the High School Old Boys Club in 1966, playing a number of years in the Premier Grade, before stints away in Wellington and Nelson before starting with 1988 Merivale Papanui.  He played the next 17 in the Senior A grade, being one of the best performed bowlers in the grade during this period.  Gary joined the committee in 1994 and served in several senior positions including Secretary and President.  He won the Peter Russell Trophy for service to Suburban Cricket in 2009-10, serving as President of the association from 2006-2012.  He was also the driving force behind the centenary celebrations for the CSCA in 2005 and is a Life member of Merivale Papanui.


These seven join Roger Georgieff as Life Members of Christchurch Metro Cricket.

LM 2

CMCA Life Members (Left to Right)

Roger Georgieff, Heather Steele, Derek Burrell, John Grocott, Gary Saunders,
Mike Johnston, Alan Jamieson, John Thompson