Latest News

  • News The Skippers Diary Book Launch
    Created on Friday, 18 August 2017 11:44
    Sir Richard Hadlee’s father, Walter, captained the New Zealand Cricket Team on the 1949 Tour of England. This was the New Zealand team that prompted the rest of the cricketing world to sit up and take notice; enjoying great success, and promoting several players to world-class st...

    Read more

    News Canterbury Cricket Vacancy
    Created on Wednesday, 09 August 2017 11:38
    Canterbury Cricket – Capability Support Manager Canterbury Cricket are passionate about supporting the volunteers and administrators that make our summer game a success. The Capability Support Manager role has been established to support volunteers within District and Sub-Associ...

    Read more

    News CMCA Golf Day 2017
    Created on Monday, 07 August 2017 10:05
    The Christchurch Metro Cricket Golf Day will be held on October 13 at the Christchurch Golf Club. It will be an Ambrose format with a Shotgun start of 12pm. Please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. document....

    Read more

    News Call out for Golden Oldies 2018 volunteers...
    Created on Friday, 07 July 2017 09:19
    Nearly 1,000 volunteers are needed to help the largest multi-sport event to be held in Christchurch, the Christchurch Casino Golden Oldies Sports Celebration 2018. Peter McDermott, Golden Oldies Sports Celebration 2018 event director said volunteers are at the heart of events li...

    Read more

    News Jeremy Curwin the New CEO of Canterbury Cricket...
    Created on Friday, 30 June 2017 08:09
    Jeremy Curwin has been appointed as the Chief Executive of Canterbury Cricket.  Jeremy Curwin replaces Lee Germon who has accepted a role as the General Manager of Sydney Thunder.    Canterbury Cricket Board Chairman, Ashley Taggart, said that Jeremy Curwin was a...

    Read more

    News Season Calendar 2017-18
    Created on Thursday, 29 June 2017 14:20
    Season Calendar 2017-18     Date Event 7 0ct Start of ALL Metro ADULT cricket except Div 1 and Div 2 Women 14-Oct 1st XI Youth cricket and Div 1 and Div 2 Women start 21-Oct Labour Saturday-cricket for all Adult and Youth grades ...

    Read more

    News Winter Training now open
    Created on Monday, 15 May 2017 11:54
    Christchurch Metro Cricket is delighted to offer a comprehensive Winter Training Programme for Year 9 to U19 boys in 2017.  Each session will be held out at the state-of-the-art New Zealand Cricket’s High Performance Centre, Lincoln University. The Winter Training Programme...

    Read more

    News CMCA Awards 2016/17
    Created on Wednesday, 05 April 2017 10:11
    Christchurch Metro Cricket have held their 2016/17 Awards evening, recognising volunteer contribution, team winners and individual award winners across all grades. The major winners for the night were Ben McCord of Lancaster Park, who claimed the men's Club Cricketer of the Year...

    Read more

    News Fulton Pulls stumps on outstanding career
    Created on Tuesday, 04 April 2017 14:59
    Fulton pulls stumps on outstanding career  Peter Fulton has officially announced his retirement from first class cricket.  Fulton made his Canterbury first class debut in the last match of the 2000-01 summer and has been the cornerstone of Canterbury Cricket teams sin...

    Read more

Christchurch Metro have won the first Regional Tournament of the 2014/15 season.

The Under 17 boys were away to Timaru, and it was Christchurch Red who prevailed over a strong Canterbury Country side in the final.

Day 1 – Game 1

Canterbury Country 148-6 (F Sheat 77) defeated Buller 77-10 (S Burnett 3-15)

Mid Canterbury 68-9 (J Kerr 4-9) lost to Metro Black 69-1

Metro Red 135-4 (S Gilbert 44) defeated South Canterbury 68-10.

Day 1 Game 2

Metro Red 169-3 (J Turner 68, B Lapsley 54*) beat Mid Canterbury 102-8 (W O’Brien 4-13)

South Canterbury 87-9 (M Otley 48, B Donkers 4-5) lost to Canterbury Country 88-2 (S Heard 31, R Ellis 30*)

Buller 119-5 (A Burnett 64, N Smith 34, C Sullivan 3-20) lost to Metro Black 121-6 (H Dedman 51*)

Day 2

Metro Red 186-10 (J Turner 37) lost to Metro Black 189-5 (I Bird 53, M Allen 46, L McBreen-Smith 3-23)

Canterbury Country 257-10 (F Sheat 93, C Hill 78, S Punselie 3-22) defeated Mid Canterbury 96-10 (A Hamilton 4-23, S Burnett 3-11)

Buller 257-10 (N Smith 103, A Burnett 38, J Copland 3-79) defeated South Canterbury 112-10 (A Burnett 5-48, L Baddock 3-29).

Day 3

Games delayed due to rain and started at 3.00pm 35 overs each

Canterbury Country 157-5 (B Donkers 50, R Ellis 31) defeated Metro Black 96-10 (F Sheat 3-16, B Donkers 3-30).

Mid Canterbury 203-9 (M Burton 67, K Hunt 34, M Otley 4-24, J Copland 3-52) defeated South Canterbury 156-10 (S Wills 41, M Otley 35*, W McAughtrie 30, J Hopwood 3-30).

Buller 155 (A Burnett 81, T Irie 4-37) lost to Metro Red 156-6 (R Williamson 54, T Irie 32)

Day 4

Metro Black 201-9 (M Allen 57, I Bird 58, A Heenan 31*, S Wills 5-52, J Copland 3-40) defeated South Canterbury 166-10 (W McAughtrie 58, L McBreen-Smith 4-37, D Freeman-Greene 3-5)

Buller 272-8 (A Burnett 144, B Pratt 46, N Smith 37, J Buchanan 4-48) beat Mid Canterbury 210 (S Punselie 48, B Nixon 3-35, A Burnett 3-47 )

Metro Red 183-10 beat  Canterbury Country 110-10.

Finalists were decided on Net Run Rate (runs divided by overs)

Day 5 Finals

Christchurch Metro Red defeated Canterbury Country to win tournament

Christchurch Metro Black defeated Buller to be placed 3rd

Mid Canterbury defeated South Canterbury to be placed 5th.


The following Canterbury Under 17 team was selected following the tournament:

Fraser Sheat (Christchurch Boys High School)
Matt Hay (Christchurch Boys High School)
Jack Lewis (Christchurch Boys High School)
Will Jordan (Christchurch Boys High School)
Jack Turner (Christchurch Boys High School)
Fergus Fairbairn (Christchurch Boys High School)
Alistair Burnett (St Andrews College)
Liam McBreen-Smith (St Andrews College)
Connor Arnold (Shirley Boys High)
Joel Williams (Burnside High School)
Lochie Mckellar (Christs College)
Angus Hamilton (St Bedes)
Will Tucker (St Bedes)