Latest News

  • News The Skippers Diary Book Launch
    Created on Friday, 18 August 2017 11:44
    Sir Richard Hadlee’s father, Walter, captained the New Zealand Cricket Team on the 1949 Tour of England. This was the New Zealand team that prompted the rest of the cricketing world to sit up and take notice; enjoying great success, and promoting several players to world-class st...

    Read more

    News Canterbury Cricket Vacancy
    Created on Wednesday, 09 August 2017 11:38
    Canterbury Cricket – Capability Support Manager Canterbury Cricket are passionate about supporting the volunteers and administrators that make our summer game a success. The Capability Support Manager role has been established to support volunteers within District and Sub-Associ...

    Read more

    News CMCA Golf Day 2017
    Created on Monday, 07 August 2017 10:05
    The Christchurch Metro Cricket Golf Day will be held on October 13 at the Christchurch Golf Club. It will be an Ambrose format with a Shotgun start of 12pm. Please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. document....

    Read more

    News Call out for Golden Oldies 2018 volunteers...
    Created on Friday, 07 July 2017 09:19
    Nearly 1,000 volunteers are needed to help the largest multi-sport event to be held in Christchurch, the Christchurch Casino Golden Oldies Sports Celebration 2018. Peter McDermott, Golden Oldies Sports Celebration 2018 event director said volunteers are at the heart of events li...

    Read more

    News Jeremy Curwin the New CEO of Canterbury Cricket...
    Created on Friday, 30 June 2017 08:09
    Jeremy Curwin has been appointed as the Chief Executive of Canterbury Cricket.  Jeremy Curwin replaces Lee Germon who has accepted a role as the General Manager of Sydney Thunder.    Canterbury Cricket Board Chairman, Ashley Taggart, said that Jeremy Curwin was a...

    Read more

    News Season Calendar 2017-18
    Created on Thursday, 29 June 2017 14:20
    Season Calendar 2017-18     Date Event 7 0ct Start of ALL Metro ADULT cricket except Div 1 and Div 2 Women 14-Oct 1st XI Youth cricket and Div 1 and Div 2 Women start 21-Oct Labour Saturday-cricket for all Adult and Youth grades ...

    Read more

    News Winter Training now open
    Created on Monday, 15 May 2017 11:54
    Christchurch Metro Cricket is delighted to offer a comprehensive Winter Training Programme for Year 9 to U19 boys in 2017.  Each session will be held out at the state-of-the-art New Zealand Cricket’s High Performance Centre, Lincoln University. The Winter Training Programme...

    Read more

    News CMCA Awards 2016/17
    Created on Wednesday, 05 April 2017 10:11
    Christchurch Metro Cricket have held their 2016/17 Awards evening, recognising volunteer contribution, team winners and individual award winners across all grades. The major winners for the night were Ben McCord of Lancaster Park, who claimed the men's Club Cricketer of the Year...

    Read more

    News Fulton Pulls stumps on outstanding career
    Created on Tuesday, 04 April 2017 14:59
    Fulton pulls stumps on outstanding career  Peter Fulton has officially announced his retirement from first class cricket.  Fulton made his Canterbury first class debut in the last match of the 2000-01 summer and has been the cornerstone of Canterbury Cricket teams sin...

    Read more

East Christchurch Shirley has won the Show Weekend Pegasus Health Twenty20 tournament, after defeating Burnside West in the final on Sunday afternoon.

Both teams were on top of their pools after round robin play, and qualified for the final through playing some positive cricket.

East Shirley batted first and posted one of the highest scores of the weekend, making 160/4 off their 20 overs.  Leo Carter and Darren Broom made 50’s.

Burnside West commenced the chase in positive fashion, with Angus Harman, Carl Huyser and Sam Noster having them in the hunt at the half way mark, but some excellent bowling by Michael Davidson and Ben Hanham ensured East Shirley would come out on top.

Click here to see the full scorecard from the final:

Results from pool play:

Round 1

Old Boys Collegians 142/3 (A Shrikhande 67no) beat East Christchurch Shirley 141/5 (D Broom 44 L Carter 40)

Burnside West University 123/7 (S Paulin 40no D Rawson 3-12) beat Riccarton 120/8 (A Leckie 45 M Allcock 3-12)

Marist Harewood 122/3 (M Winter 58no) beat St Albans 119/8 (H Vyas 4-20)

Lancaster Park Woolston 89/1 (M Davidson 39no) beat Sydenham 84/9

Round 2

Burnside West University 110/8 (M Farrant 52no K Jamieson 3-7) tied with St Albans 110/9 (B Coburn 3-16)

East Shirley 125/5 (L Carter 64no) beat Lancaster Park Woolston 124/7 (S Duggan 49 J Roberts 3-24)

Marist Harewood 166/5 (M Winter 41) beat Riccarton 52 (H Vyas 4-17)

Sydenham 106/6 (E Nuttall 3-9) beat Old Boys Collegians 105 ( M Gardner 4-12)

Round 3

Burnside West University 149/9 (S Noster 45 C Huyser 63 P Sullivan 3-27) beat Marist Harewood 104 (M Campbell 3-12)

St Albans 135/8 (J O’Gorman 39 W Southby 33 B Rapson 2-26 D Rawson 2-34) beat Riccarton 134/6 (A Leckie 55)

Lancaster Park Woolston 135/7 (S Duggan 38) beat Old Boys Collegians 77 (N Wood 3-21)

East Shirley 113/9 (T Hampton-Matehe 51) beat Sydenham 63 (T Muir 4-8)


Pool 1

East Shirley 10*
Lancaster Park Woolston 10
Sydenham 5
Old Boys Collegians 5

*Qualified for the final as a result of beating Lancaster Park Woolston

Pool 2

Burnside West 13
Marist Harewood 10
St Albans 8
Riccarton 0

Individual Awards – Pool Play

Most tournament Runs, Matt Winter, Marist Harewood, 110
Most tournament wickets, Harshal Vyas, Marist Harewood, 8
Best Fielder, Talor Scott, Sydenham
Best bowling figures, Tim Muir, East Shirley, 4/8
Highest Score, Abhi Shirkhande, Old Boys Collegians 67*

Finals Awards


Impact Award, Darren Broom, East Shirley, 54 off 26
Highest Score, Leo Carter, East Shirley, 59
Best Bowling, Michael Davidson, East Shirley, 4-16