Latest News

  • News The Skippers Diary Book Launch
    Created on Friday, 18 August 2017 11:44
    Sir Richard Hadlee’s father, Walter, captained the New Zealand Cricket Team on the 1949 Tour of England. This was the New Zealand team that prompted the rest of the cricketing world to sit up and take notice; enjoying great success, and promoting several players to world-class st...

    Read more

    News Canterbury Cricket Vacancy
    Created on Wednesday, 09 August 2017 11:38
    Canterbury Cricket – Capability Support Manager Canterbury Cricket are passionate about supporting the volunteers and administrators that make our summer game a success. The Capability Support Manager role has been established to support volunteers within District and Sub-Associ...

    Read more

    News CMCA Golf Day 2017
    Created on Monday, 07 August 2017 10:05
    The Christchurch Metro Cricket Golf Day will be held on October 13 at the Christchurch Golf Club. It will be an Ambrose format with a Shotgun start of 12pm. Please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. document....

    Read more

    News Call out for Golden Oldies 2018 volunteers...
    Created on Friday, 07 July 2017 09:19
    Nearly 1,000 volunteers are needed to help the largest multi-sport event to be held in Christchurch, the Christchurch Casino Golden Oldies Sports Celebration 2018. Peter McDermott, Golden Oldies Sports Celebration 2018 event director said volunteers are at the heart of events li...

    Read more

    News Jeremy Curwin the New CEO of Canterbury Cricket...
    Created on Friday, 30 June 2017 08:09
    Jeremy Curwin has been appointed as the Chief Executive of Canterbury Cricket.  Jeremy Curwin replaces Lee Germon who has accepted a role as the General Manager of Sydney Thunder.    Canterbury Cricket Board Chairman, Ashley Taggart, said that Jeremy Curwin was a...

    Read more

    News Season Calendar 2017-18
    Created on Thursday, 29 June 2017 14:20
    Season Calendar 2017-18     Date Event 7 0ct Start of ALL Metro ADULT cricket except Div 1 and Div 2 Women 14-Oct 1st XI Youth cricket and Div 1 and Div 2 Women start 21-Oct Labour Saturday-cricket for all Adult and Youth grades ...

    Read more

    News Winter Training now open
    Created on Monday, 15 May 2017 11:54
    Christchurch Metro Cricket is delighted to offer a comprehensive Winter Training Programme for Year 9 to U19 boys in 2017.  Each session will be held out at the state-of-the-art New Zealand Cricket’s High Performance Centre, Lincoln University. The Winter Training Programme...

    Read more

    News CMCA Awards 2016/17
    Created on Wednesday, 05 April 2017 10:11
    Christchurch Metro Cricket have held their 2016/17 Awards evening, recognising volunteer contribution, team winners and individual award winners across all grades. The major winners for the night were Ben McCord of Lancaster Park, who claimed the men's Club Cricketer of the Year...

    Read more

    News Fulton Pulls stumps on outstanding career
    Created on Tuesday, 04 April 2017 14:59
    Fulton pulls stumps on outstanding career  Peter Fulton has officially announced his retirement from first class cricket.  Fulton made his Canterbury first class debut in the last match of the 2000-01 summer and has been the cornerstone of Canterbury Cricket teams sin...

    Read more

Sanders named in NZC Reserve Umpiring Panel

Strong performances from Eugene Sanders have seen him elevated to the New Zealand Cricket Reserve Umpire Panel for the 2014-15 season.

Sanders has umpired in the local Christchurch Metro Competition over recent years and was recepient of the Umpire of the Year award in 2013.

NZC today announced the nine umpires to feature on the Elite Panel, while reappointing Chris Gaffaney and Derek Walker as the New Zealand international on-field umpires. Phil Jones will be the designated Third Umpire (TV) for the 2014-15 international home season, which includes series against South Africa, Sri Lanka and Pakistan.

An additional 20 officials have been named in the NZC Reserve Umpires Panel, with Sanders, John Dempsey and Shaun Haig all making the step up.  

NZC Match Officials Manager Rodger McHarg was pleased with the quality of umpires that had been named and optimistic about the upcoming summer.

“Those selected thoroughly deserve their spot on the panels and we’re confident that the quality of umpiring at all levels will be of a high standard,” says McHarg.

“The recent appointment of Tony Hill as NZC Umpire Coach will provide further opportunity for umpires to get valuable feedback and we expect this to have considerable benefits on the quality of officiating.”

NZC Elite Umpires Panel 

Chris Gaffaney (Otago)

Derek Walker (Otago)

Phil Jones (Auckland)

Tim Parlane (Canterbury)

Gary Baxter (Canterbury)

Wayne Knights (Auckland)

Barry Frost (Auckland)

Tony Gillies (Northern Districts)

Ash Mehrotra (Northern Districts)


NZC Reserve Umpires Panel


Aaron Hardie (Wellington)

Chris Brown (Auckland)

Dave Paterson (Central Districts)

David Reid (Canterbury)

David Tidmarsh (Northern Districts)

Eugene Sanders (Canterbury)

Garth Stirrat (Wellington)

Glen Walklin (Central Districts)

Hiran Perera (Auckland)

Johann Fourie (Central Districts)

John Bromley (Central Districts)

John Dempsey (Northern Districts)

Kathy Cross (Wellington)

Mark Elliott (Central Districts)

Mike George (Central Districts)

Peter Gasston (Auckland)

Phil Agent (Northern Districts)

Raoul Allen (Auckland)

Shaun Haig (Otago)

Richard Hooper (Central Districts)

Shaun Ryan (Central Districts)