CMCA Crest Small

The Christchurch Metro Cricket Association has concluded its 2013/14 season with a successful awards night, held on 16th April.

The night was attended by 150 guests, and during the evening all team and individual award winners were recognised for their achievements throughout the course of the season.

Gavin Larsen, 2015 World Cup Cricket Ambassador, was the special guest speaker, and one of the highlights of the evening was having the Cricket World Cup at the event.

On the field there were several team highlights.  East Shirley claimed the Premier One Day competition, and they had recently added to National Club Championship to their cabinet as well.  St Albans won the Premier Men’s two day and Premier Women’s One Day title.  Heathcote claimed three of the four Senior A trophies (One Day, T20 and Combined) , while Halswell claimed the Senior A Two Day. 

St Albans won the Petersen Shield for overall club excellence, adding Presidents Grade to the above wins, and in addition, they were the most consistent team across all grades.

Individually, Michael Davidson from St Albans won the top men’s award, the Club Cricketer of the Year.  He claimed over 50 wickets and scored 400 runs.  Jacinta Savage from East Christchurch Shirley, won the female equivalent.

Several new awards were introduced for volunteers with Theo Barclay of Halswell taking out the Souter Trophy for Groundsman of the Year, while Catherine Ryan from Southern Districts won the Peter Sharp Trophy for Administrator of the Year and Brett Thomson from Burnside West won the Brian Adams Trophy for up and coming Administrator.  Ken Lomax from Heathcote took out the Peter Russell Trophy for Outstanding Contribution to Senior A Cricket.

Full List of Award Winners

Peter Russell trophy for outstanding contribution to Senior A Club Cricket: Ken Lomax of Heathcote CC

The Souter Trophy for Club Groundsman of the Year: Theo Barclay of Halswell CC

The Peter Sharp Trophy for Club Administrator of the Year: Catherine Ryan of Southern Districts CC

Brian Adams Trophy: Brett Thomson of Burnside West Christchurch University CC

The R.W Conway Cup:  Eugene Sanders

Walter Hadlee Trophy: East Christchurch Shirley

Senior A Umpires Trophy: Sumner

Presidents Grade: St Albans

The Graham Frampton Memorial Challenge Cup: Sydenham Cardinals

The Trophy for 4b Section 2 Grade: St Albans

The Trophy for 4B Section 1 Grade: Marist Harewood

The Trophy for 4A Section 2 Grade:   Richmond

The Trophy for 4a Section 1 Grade:  Marist Harewood

The Trophy for 3C: Sydenham Cardinals

The Trophy for 3B Grade: Sumner

The Trophy for 3A Section 2 Grade: Merivale Papanui

The Trophy for 3a Section 1 Grade :  East Christchurch Shirley

Cavaliers Twenty20 Grade: The Pirates

Chairman’s Cup: Hornby 

Phyl Blackler Memorial Trophy for Womens Division 1-2 One Day: Old Boys Collegians Country Navy

Robbies Social Twenty20 for women: Riccarton

Kirsty Bond Series: Lancaster Park Woolston

2B Grades T20: Riccarton

2B One Day: Riccarton

2B Two Day: Hornby

2A Twenty/20: Old Boys Collegians,

Men 2A: One Day Competition- Old Boys Collegians,

2A Men Two Day: Old Boys Collegians

Special Presentation made to outgoing CMCA Chairman – Kerry Dellaca

Premier Grade Women – One-day Competition: St Albans

Premier Men’s Twenty/20competition: Sydenham

Skilton Trophy for Senior A One Day –Heathcote

Senior A Twenty20 – Heathcote

Senior A Combined Competition Trophy Day – Heathcote

Premier Men – One-day Competition: East Christchurch Shirley

National One Day Cricket Champions: East Christchurch Shirley

Ken Haworth Senior A Two day competition: Halswell 

Premier Men – Two Day Competition: St Albans

Petersen Shield: St Albans CC

Melhuish Shield:  Premier and Presidents combination from the St Albans CC

Individual Club Awards

John Cowens Award - Awarded to the under 20 batsman in Men’s Club Cricket who scored the most runs in the Premier 2-day & 1-day competitions: Jack Clarke Marist Harewood 512 runs (Gone back to UK)

John Cowens Award - Awarded to the under 20 bowler in Men’s Club Cricket who took the most wickets in the Premier 2-day & 1-day competitions: Tom Meyrick from Marist harewood with 27 wickets

Senior A Most promising Batsman – Ben Mayo (Merivale Papanui)

Senior A Most promising bowler – Tom Gooday (Sumner)

Canterbury Cricket Umpires’ and scorers’  Association Awards - Awarded annually for sportsmanlike conduct in Men’s Premier Grade as voted by the Umpires:

  • •Sportsmanship Trophy for Batting – Tim Papps (East Shirley)
  • •Sportsmanship Trophy for Bowling – Michael Davidson (St Albans)

Centenary Cup for Wicket keeping dismissals in Senior A –Eddie Quirke (Halswell)

Chattel Hayes Memorial Trophy - Awarded to the wicket-keeper making the most dismissals in the Men’s Premier Grade 2-day Trophy and 1 day competition competition: Brad Gordon (Riccarton)

Felton Trophy - Awarded to the player taking the Most Wickets Women’s in Premier Grade one day competitions: Kirsty Nation Lancaster Park Woolston, Gina Aldersley East Christchurch Shirley

Bowling Trophy for Senior A – Awarded to the bowler taking the most wickets in the Senior A grade- Craig Primmer (Heathcote)

Stephen Lester Memorial Trophy - Awarded to the bowler taking the most wickets in the Men’s Premier Grade 2-day Trophy and 1 day competitions:  Michael Davidson from St Albans

Stead Rose Bowl - Awarded to the player scoring the most runs in Women’s Premier Grade one day competition: Erin Bermingham (Old Boys Collegians Country)

Diamond Jubilee Trophy was for player with the most runs in Senior A: Matt House (Heathcote)

Roger Blunt Memorial Trophy: Greg Dawson (St Albans)

Jean Ruddenklau Trophy - This award goes to a player who has shown consistency in both Women’s club and representative cricket: Hayley Jensen (East Christchurch Shirley)

The D N Stokes Trophy for the Senior A Representative most outstanding performance in a rep match – Charles Grey (Richmond)

Women’s Club Cricket Player of the Year –Jacinta Savage (East Christchurch Shirley)

Men’s Club Cricket Player of the Year: Michael Davidson (St Albans)

Premier Men Club Team of the Year

Keryn Ambler - Lancaster Park Woolston
Michael Davidson - Lancaster Park Woolston
Michael Davidson - St Albans
Greg Dawson - St Albans
Brent Findlay - Lancaster Park Woolston
Brad Gordon - Riccarton
Conrad Klintworth - Riccarton
Matt McEwan - Old Boys Collegians
James O'Gorman - St Albans
Ben Rapson - Riccarton
Dan Thomas - Marist Harewood
Theo van Woerkom - Old Boys Collegians